The Forest District Sława Śląska is located within the area of three provinces: Lower Silesia (Głogów District, Kotla Commune), Lubuskie Province ( Nowa Sól District, Kolsko Commune, Nowa Sól Commune, Siedlisko Commune; Zielona Góra District, Bojadła Commune, Kargowa Commune; Wschowa District, Sława Commune and city Sława), Wielkopolska Province (Wolsztyn District, Wolsztyn Commune).


Going back to the past of the lands' history, which belongs to the Forest District Sława Śląska, we can encounter information dated from the XIII century. In those days, lands were divided into castellanies, within the framework of which, among others, there was conducted the forest management. The historians mention facts connected with numerous hunting having taken place in that time and the meetings of magnates in the area of Bory Tarnowskie (Tarnów Forests), which in greater extend constitute some part of the current forests of the Forest District.

Forest district arrangement

Nadleśnictwo jest podstawową, samodzielną jednostką organizacyjną Lasów Państwowych, działającą na podstawie ustawy o lasach. Podlega ono Regionalnej Dyrekcji Lasów Państwowych, prowadzącej nadzór i koordynującej działania na swoim terenie. Nadleśnictwa dzielą się na leśnictwa.

Projects and funds

The project is cofinanced by the European Union from the funds of the European Regional Development Fund, as part of Infrastructure and Environment Programme. Cofinanced from the funds of the National Environmental Protection and Water Management Fund as part of the Infrastructure and Environment Operational Programme (IaE OP) 5th Priority Axis 2007–2013.


Sława Śląska Forest District co-operates with Landratsamt Bautzen Kreisforstamt (County Forest Office) from Saxony (Germany). The headquarter of the project partner Landsratsamt Bautzen Kreisforstamt is located in Kamenz. Further information can be found here.